To get an admin started, add them in the list of users. The name and email address is required to invite an admin to your Blackbaud community. After the invitation is accepted, they use their Blackbaud ID to begin working.
Tip: Organization admins! Do you have questions about getting started? Review our Getting Started with Users and Admins FAQ. To access Users and admins, sign in to Blackbaud's website and select Admin from the solution menu on the left. Only organization admins can access Admin.
Note: The count on the list of users includes all users and admins, regardless of status.
Under Users, select Add admin and enter their name and email address.
To allow access to all features and tasks, including the ability to change your organization's profile, set security for others, and set up single sign-on (SSO), select Make organization admin.
Note: To avoid a security gap if you leave your organization, make sure you have at least one additional organization admin.
To send an email invitation to the admin, select Send invite. For more information, see Invitations.
After the admin accepts the invitation, it takes several minutes for the acceptance to process. Once complete, the admin can begin working and sign in to Blackbaud's website with their Blackbaud ID to view their profile and other resources, such as Training Central.
To edit an admin, select Edit user from their menu . You can view their name and the email address used with their Blackbaud ID.
Tip: You can't update an admin's name and email address from their profile. If an admin signs in through Blackbaud's secure authentication service, they can manage their name and email address from their Blackbaud ID profile. If your organization sets up single sign-on (SSO) for its Blackbaud IDs, your network administrator can manage users' name and email addresses through your identity provider.
Note: When you edit an admin, the name and email address that appears is the one used to accept the invitation. This may be different than the one originally used to send the invitation.
To remove admin access, select Remove admin from their menu . Once removed, the user remains in the list and still has access to their Blackbaud ID profile and resources, but can't access admin features and tasks such as your organization's profile and single sign-on (SSO).
To maintain a history of admins for your organization, you can't delete or remove them when one leaves your organization or when duplicate records exist (for yourself or another admin) — you can only make them inactive. To do this, select Make inactive from their menu .
Tip: If you make yourself inactive, contact another admin at your organization to become active again.
When you inactivate an admin:
They can't access Support resources, such as Training Central, on Blackbaud's website.
They appear in search and lists, but can't access your solutions and data.
They’re inactive for all Blackbaud solutions you use. You can't make an admin inactive for just one solution.
If you use Blackbaud solutions with a database view, such as Raiser's Edge NXT, they're no longer linked to their user or have access to the database view. If you make them active again, you must re-link them.
If you use Blackbaud Education Management, they're no longer linked to their user or have access to Education Management. If you make them active again, you must re-link them.
To make the admin active again, select Make active from their menu . Their previous solution roles are restored automatically with access to feature areas.